Flashback Friday: Our Father

Father’s Day is approaching; it is this Sunday on June 18th. To acknowledge all the dads and the greatest one of them all-God, we are reposting this falshback. Please enjoy this post that was originally posted June 11, 2016. Happy Father’s Day weekend to all the fathers!🤵🤵🏾🤵🏿🤵🏼

…Our Father which art in heaven, Hallowed be thy name. Thy kingdom come, Thy will be done in earth, as it is in heaven (Mat 6:9-10).

image

Father’s Day is approaching (June 19th)! Yet, Father’s Day doesn’t get the same amount of attention as Mother’s day. In 2014, 19.9 billion dollars were spent on Mother’s Day while 12.5 billion dollars were spent on Father’s Day (https://www.discover.com/credit-cards/resources/holiday/mothers-day-vs-fathers-day-infographic).

It is easy to push Father’s Day to the side for many children or adults like me, who don’t have their earthly fathers present in their lives for whatever reason such as death, abandonment, imprisonment, etc. Fathers in general, I admit, dont get the attention or appreciation they should, especially in the Black community because of those who have failed to care, don’t know how to be a dad, or be consistent. However, there are still good fathers out there and for those who are struggling to be that good father but are surely trying, God sees you.

I am sure it is an honor to be a father: the one God placed at the head of his family, and the one who can draw strength and wisdom from the greatest and Almighty Father Himself, God. The one who is also needed and we, women of God, are still praying that none of your destinies as men be aborted or abandoned.

I am reminded of the time God told me that He would be my Father and Jesus my big Brother. God has kept that promise and although I have longed to meet my earthly dad sometimes, I have God who not only met me, but created me and first loved me. There is no other love but His that can fulfill me and carry me throughout this life. A father to the fatherless, a defender of widows, is God in His holy dwelling (Psalm 68:5 NIV).

You’re a good, good father. It’s who you are, it’s who you are, it’s who you are. And I am loved by you. It’s who I am, it’s who I am. It’s who I am. –written by Pat Barrett and Tony Brown

I love You Dad!

And to all the fathers and father figures we, here at Fruitful & Fabulous, know both near and afar, we appreciate you. You are in our prayers. God bless you!

Sincerely,

Tannika

Leave a Reply

